top of page
Search
Writer's pictureThe Baking Realtor

Buyer Myths, Mistakes, and Marvelous Moments

Can I have permission to be a little raw and honest for a few minutes? With recent training at my new brokerage and revamping my client materials, I feel the need to point a few things out about past experiences with buyers.



Let's start with a phrase from buyers I love to hate:  "I don't want to bother you". I love that my people are trying to be considerate of my time, but I also want to shake them and remind them showing houses and talking about all things Real Estate is what I do for a living! If I didn't want to do it, then I would not be a Realtor. Nights and weekends are my normal 9-5, so do not worry about "bothering me" if you have questions, want to see multiple houses, houses at night, or houses multiple days in a row. However, there are a few common mistakes buyers make:


Seeing houses without meeting with or talking to a lender - This is my number one rule that is sometimes hard to stick to. Looking at houses can be VERY fun and exciting. Plus, I love spending time educating my peeps and getting to know their needs. However, you gotta know what you are approved for and what type of loan you are getting before you can put in an offer. So, it is in your best interest to do the legwork upfront so our time is productive!

Not understanding what a Buyer Agency agreement is - Did you know that if you want me to represent you, there is a contract we need to sign? Sounds scary and legal-y, but it is actually for your benefit. Prior to signing a Buyer Agency, all agents work for the seller, so I am not legally able to give you pricing advice or negotiate for you without this contract signed. The contact can last anywhere from 1 day to infinity...and beyond. (Sorry... I had to)

Never call the agent on a For Sale sign. Ever. Never - As mentioned above, all agents work for the seller until you sign a Buyer Agency. However, the Listing Agent always has the seller's best interests in mind, so NEVER call him/her if you want to see a house. If you do, you could now be stuck working with the Listing Agent who cannot properly represent you or paying my agent fee. Along those lines, if you want to attend an Open House without me, be very clear with the Open House host you are working with an agent and save all your questions about the house for me to investigate for you. 

Thinking that hiring a Realtor to buy a home will cost you money - If a home is listed on a major website, the seller is likely paying my Buyer Agency fee. Realtor.com, Trulia, etc. are all part of the MLS, (a network agents have access to), and the benefit of being on all these websites is why sellers are willing to pay for a Listing Agent and a Buyer's Agent. The exception is when you see a For Sale By Owner home. This property is not on the MLS network, and the seller may or may not be willing to pay my fee.



Now let's talk about things buyers do that make me SO HAPPY!


Bring along all decision makers to showings and Open Houses - The market moves quickly, so I love when buyers bring along their kids, parents, friends, etc. whose opinions they value. We might not have the opportunity to come back through the home again, so bring the whole crew each and everytime!

Do their homework - I love when buyers drive by the home at different times of the day, look up the home on Google Maps, and come prepared to showings. It's a bit of a time waster when we pull up to a home located next to a gas station or major highway that a buyer was unaware of and we immediately drive to the next house.

Put themselves in the seller's shoes - While I want what is in your best interest, that sometimes means catering to the needs to the seller. Buyers who are willing to be flexible on closing and cognizant of terms are more likely to get their offer accepted than a buyer who bids low on a home and isn't willing to give an inch.

Hire me! - I'd be silly to not list this as something that makes me SO HAPPY! No matter if I am currently working with 1 client or 100, I take each and every one under my wing to make sure the process is as smooth as possible. I know there are a lot of Realtors out there to choose from, and I am so grateful when you pick me!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page